How can I connect to BTrieve files using ODBC?

Last post 10-24-2009 9:14 AM by Mirtheil. 6 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (7 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • 10-22-2009 9:38 AM

• csdyyr
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on 10-22-2009
    • Posts 4

How can I connect to BTrieve files using ODBC?

I am totally new to Pervasive products, I don't know how Pervasive,BTrieve and Scalable SQL interact with each other.

The environments: A Pervasive.SQL 2000 workstation engine is running on a workstation computer where an application can connect to a remote server and access BTrieve files reside on the server.

Here is the question: Now I want to connect to the remote server and to access the BTrieve files through ODBC, so I tried to create a Pervasive ODBC Client Interface DSN, when I clicked the button create... on Pervasive ODBC Client DSN Setup dialog box and then another dialog box showed up which promted me to input user name and password, after I finished and cliked ok button, the box disapeared and returned to the first box, but the server Data Source Name compound box was stilled disabled so I couldn't select an item. thus I failed to create a DSN.

I don't know what's wrong with the setting process, what can I do to create a DSN using ODBC thus I can connect to the remote server and access the BTrieve files in my delphi application?

Any advice would be much appreciated!

• 10-22-2009 10:46 AM In reply to

Re: How can I connect to BTrieve files using ODBC?

If the remote server doesn't have a PSQL engine, you need to create an Engine Interface DSN rather than a Client Interface DSN on the machine where the engine runs.  Once you create the Engine DSN, you should be able to access the data from any ODBC environment. 

• 10-22-2009 10:32 PM In reply to

• csdyyr
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on 10-22-2009
    • Posts 4

Mirtheil:

Thank you very much for your help!

I finally succeeded in creating an Engine DSN!

Good luck to you!

• 10-23-2009 8:06 PM In reply to

• csdyyr